Food and love

Ever since I joined Weight Watchers I have been meticulously tracking my food and activity through their website and mobile app. What needs to be tracked additionally is my emotional state and mood and how it translates to my food choices.
Love and food are so closely enmeshed in American culture. We share dinners on first dates, we celebrate birthdays with cakes and candles, we cook for people we love. Those are all happy occasions.
What about when you are blue or sad or have no love in your life? That’s when I have turned to food, becoming an emotional eater instead of eating to feed myself. It has been like that for me for several years.
Guess what? Things are getting better! This past New Year’s Eve I was really feeling down. Out of nowhere a band tweeted me that they loved my blog and would I review their single. I hadn’t even posted anything since May. On January 2, I revived my blog and it has been amazing. I love interacting with you who are reading and commenting. What started off as a music blog has morphed into something more personal.
I like sharing my recent experiences with Paul and I will continue to share. I am so much happier than I was a month ago. I have a man in my life who cares about me and is affectionate. The Blizzard brought us closer the last 2 days. I have been making good food choices and eating when I am hungry – learning what it feels like to eat for nutrition and energy. I can do this!

9 comments

  1. I love that image of the apple and heart 💕
    I didn’t realise you’d been awol before blogging101, how exciting to have a band find you. I’m glad your up and going again and I’m enjoying following along. You go girl!

  2. It’s amazing how things can change and turn around so quickly, that’s why we always have to ride the storm! You sound like you’re in a really great place right now and I’m pleased you were here for when I got back on with my blogging too, I didn’t realise that you could make friends through blogs 🙂

    Keep going!

    1. Yes, it’s nice to make friends through blogs. I feel like everything is going to be ok. Each day gets better. It is all the more sweeter when I wake up and look forward to the day ahead.

  3. I followed your blog for the music writing, but just wanted to jump in and say that this post is really touching and it’s been a lovely surprise to read about your recent experiences with Paul in the last few posts. All the best, in food, and love, and music!

Leave a Reply

