If We Were Having Coffee

ifwewerehavingcoffee

If we were having coffee I would tell you that I’m on an emotional rollercoaster with my boyfriend and today is quite rough.

If we were having coffee I would share my excitement over my upcoming mini-break to Greenport, NY this Tuesday. I haven’t taken any kind of vacation since 2004. I love to travel. Day trips upstate, weeks in Europe, months in Australia and New Zealand. I have been very lucky to have visited and experienced so many places.

Greenport is on the North Fork of Long Island. It is the end of the winter season in this quaint resort town, so the rates are reasonable. It has art galleries, shops, restaurants, and a marina. There’s a ferry going to and from Shelter Island. I’m going for 2 nights, and my boyfriend is supposed to go with me.

If we were having coffee I would tell you that we are not getting along today at all. Yesterday we went to the gastroenterologist for him and we had a good day. I care about him a lot and he knows that. Today he says I’m cold and calculated. Nice.

If we were having coffee I would tell you that I need a break. Desperately. My cat Lucy died at the end of February and my cat Hamlet has low grade lymphoma, which we are treating with chemo and steroid meds.

If we were having coffee I would tell you that sometimes I wish we were friends and not in a relationship. I’m a great friend. I’m not the best girlfriend, I admit that. Today I am in no mood to be affectionate. My boyfriend is pissed at me for that. I tell him I can’t be everything and he doesn’t understand that.

If we were having coffee I’d tell you that I’m not going to let this ruin a day of sunny 70 degree temperatures and my outing to Strawberry Fields, in Central Park with one of my girlfriends.

Today’s post was inspired by Suzie. The ‘If We Were Having Coffee’ series was created by Part Time Monster. Everyone is invited to join in, and you are welcome to share your coffee posts on Twitter every Saturday with #WeekendCoffeeShare – hop on over and join in the fun!

8 comments

  1. Thanks so much for linking up Jilly! I really enjoyed your post – but i’m so sad to hear about the cats. I lost my 19 year old cat almost a year ago to the day, and my other one has Type 1 diabetes. Thats the only bad thing about being a pet owner… It’s never easy to say goodbye to them is it? Hope you manage to get that break – it sounds like it is going to be wonderful!

  2. I like this series!
    About the boyfriend… I think I told you what I think, but your life is yours and you have to decide what makes you feel better ^^

  3. Ooh I like the idea behind this series, I wish that we were able to have a catch up over a coffee but this is the next best thing! I hope that you enjoy your trip, with or without Paul, you deserve a break and a good time. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Adele. Paul isn’t feeling well enough to travel so my friend is meeting me in Greenport on Wednesday. My cat now has a mass on his paw pad. I hate to leave them both but I’m going anyway. Glad you enjoyed the post.

Leave a Reply

